I want to pump

An article by Yannick Freundel about Long Distance Pumping (LDP)

As an alternative to pushing, you can also move using a technique called pumping. This involves acceleration through a slalom movement.

Which setup is suitable for pumping?

Decks

You can actually pump any setup, but between a good pumping setup and a "normal" longboard are usually worlds apart in terms of acceleration, top speed and power efficiency. If you're wondering if your longboard is pumpable, here are a few things to consider. Usually drop through decks without flex and with rocker like Landyachtz Switch or the Switchblade work worst. Good for pumping are top mount decks with flex like many dancers, pintails and generally decks with camber concave. Surfskate setups are very easy to pump but unfortunately very slow and not really efficient. There are also more professional top mount decks like the Antidote Cyclone, Subsonic Pulse or various models of Bossa or a few push/pump hybrids like the Rocket Rambler or 1166 Pacemaker

Trucks

Front trucks

Trucks are next to Bushings when it comes to pumping. The Hangar width is typically between 120-150mm, the standard 180mm longboard axles are too sluggish due to their larger radius and are therefore not well suited. In addition, a front truck should have a pivot angle between 55-65°. The standard trucks are usually between 43-50 °. That's why you usually can't get around wedging. Unfortunately, good pumping front trucks are very expensive, because they must withstand more forces than normal trucks and are therefore CNC milled. The most common manufacturers here are Don't Trip and Exile. Currently, the only cheap alternatives are modded Bennett, 150 mm Randall or 150mm Paris Trucks

TKP or RKP?

TKP trucks such as Bennett and Don't trip Bhanger have a strong dive when turning, the stronger you turn the more the trucks pull to the side. RKP trucks like Don't trip Poppy or Exile Hydra are very linear in their steering behavior and correspond very much to the standard sine curve.

Rear trucks are mostly between 110-140mm width. They should be between 0-30° for a RKP, 0° is very efficient and fast but not good for pumping uphill, 30° is very carving and less stable. For a top mount pumper I would recommend an angle between 10-20°. A common rear truck is a 125mm Randall II with a 35° or 28° baseplate. If you choose a TKP truck, you will need to wedge the king pin bolt perpendicular to the road. For most TKP truck this equals 20°. A common truck is the Tracker RTS.

Bushings

A good pumping bushing has a strong rebound force, i.e. high rebound. Most pumpers swear by Riptide aps oder krank formula, abec 11 oder venom (Zak Maytumare also very common. On the front truck, people often use much softer durometers, on the rear truck much harder durometers than recommended for the weight.

Wheels

The wheels are rather secondary, you want grippy wheels mostly in the range between 75-83a. Seismic, Abec11 or Orangatang Wheels are recommended

Bracketboards

These long distance setups are intended as a compromise between pushing and pumping. The special brackets which are used here lower the board, angle the trucks and at the same time give better leverage on the trucks than drop-through decks. This allows huge wheels to be ridden, usually 80 mm up. Special 0° truks are often ridden as the rear trucks like Exile Insania, don't trip delirium or a gbomb torsion tail. The decks are called platforms and are usually between 65-75 cm long.

Yannick Freundel
Share this post

One reply on “Ich will pumpen

Comments are closed.

Ich will pumpen

Ein Beitrag von Yannick Freundel über Long Distance Pumping (LDP)

Alternativ zum Pushen kann man sich auch mit einer Technik fortbewegen die Pumping genannt wird. Dabei wird durch eine Slalombewegung beschleunigt.

Welches Setup eignet sich zum Pumpen?

Decks

Man kann eigentlich jedes Setup Pumpen, zwischen einem gutem Pumping Setup und einem „normalen“ Longboard liegen aber meistens Welten, was Beschleunigung, Höchstgeschwindigkeit und Krafteffizienz angeht. Wenn ihr euch fragt, ob euer Longboard zum Pumpen taugt, gibt es ein paar Anhaltspunkte. Am schlechtesten funktionieren in der Regel drop through Decks ohne Flex und mit Rocker wie zb. Landyachtz Switch oder das Switchblade. Gut zum Pumpen sind top mount Decks mit Flex wie viele Dancer, Pintails und generell Decks mit Camber Concave. Surfskate Setups sind sehr einfach zu Pumpen aber leider sehr langsam und nicht wirklich effizient. Zudem gibt es professionellere Top Mount Decks wie z.B. das Antidote Cyclone, Subsonic Pulse oder verschiedene Modelle von Bossa oder ein paar Push/Pump Hybriden wie das Rocket Rambler oder 1166 Pacemaker.

Achsen

Vorderachsen

Die Achsen sind neben den Bushings die wichtigste Stellschraube beim Pumpen. Die Hangar Breite liegt typischerweise zwischen 120-150mm, die Standard 180mm Longboard Achsen sind durch ihren größeren Radius zu träge und eignen sich deshalb nicht gut. Zudem sollte eine Vorderachse einen Pivotwinkel zwischen 55-65° haben. Die Standard Achsen liegen meistens zwischen 43-50°. Deswegen kommt man meist nicht ums Keilen drumherum (wedging). Leider sind gute Pumping Front Achsen sehr teuer, da sie mehr Kräfte aushalten müssen als normale Achsen und deshalb CNC gefräst werden. Die gängigen Hersteller sind hier Don’t Trip und Exile. Momentan sind die einzigen günstige Alternativen gemodette Bennett, 150 mm Randall oder 150 mm Paris Achsen.

TKP oder RKP?

TKP Achsen wie Bennett und Don’t trip Bhanger haben ein starken Dive beim Einlenken, je stärker man einlenkt umso stärker ziehen die Achsen zur Seite. RKP Achsen wie Don’t trip Poppy oder Exile Hydra sind in ihrem Lenkverhalten sehr linear und entsprechen sehr der Standard Sinus Kurve.

Hinterachsen liegen meistens zwischen 110-140mm Breite. Die Hinterachse sollte bei einer RKP zwischen 0-30° liegen, 0° ist sehr effizient und schnell aber nicht gut zum bergauf pumpen, 30° ist sehr carvig und weniger stabil. Für ein top mount pumper würde ich einen Winkel zwischen 10-20° empfehlen. Eine gängige Hinterachse ist eine 125mm Randall II mit einer 35° oder 28° baseplate. Solltet ihr euch für eine TKP Achse entscheiden, müsst ihr durch Keilen die King Pin Schraube senkrecht zur Straße bringen. Bei den meisten TKP Achsen entspricht das 20°. Eine gängige Achse ist die Tracker RTS.

Bushings

Ein gutes Pumping bushing hat eine starke Rückstellkraft, also high rebound. Die meisten Pumper schwören auf Riptide aps oder krank formula, abec 11 oder venom (Zak Maytum) sind aber auch verbreitet. Auf der Vorderachse benutzt man oft deutlich weichere, auf der Hinterachse deutlich härtere Durometer als für das Gewicht empfohlen.

Rollen

Die Rollen sind eher zweitrangig, man will grippige Rollen meist im Bereich zwischen 75-83a. Seismic, abec 11 oder Orangatang Rollen sind sehr zu empfehlen.

Bracketboards

Diese Long Distance Setups sind als Kompromiss aus Pushing und Pumping gedacht. Hier kommen spezielle Achsaufnehmer (Brackets) zum Einsatz. Diese legen das Brett tiefer, winkeln die Achsen an und geben gleichzeitig einen besseren Hebel auf die Achsen als Drop-Through decks. Dies ermöglicht es riesige Rollen zu fahren, meist 80 mm aufwärts. Als Hinterachse werden oft spezielle 0° Achsen gefahren wie Exile Insania, don’t trip delirium oder ein gbomb Torsion tail. Die decks werden als Platform bezeichnet und sind meistens zwischen 65-75 cm lang.

Yannick Freundel

One reply on “Ich will pumpen

Comments are closed.

Studio Longboard